Return to Headlines

Elizabethtown Area High School’s Claire Fritz wins Hershey Theatre Apollo Award

Claire Fritz May 20, 2020- At the 2020 Hershey Theatre Apollo Awards, Elizabethtown Area High School senior Claire Fritz won the award for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Play for her role as Alice Sycamore in You Can’t Take It With You. Inspired by the Tony Awards, the prestigious awards’ program is held annually to recognize outstanding achievement by local high school students in their musical and play productions.

High schools in Cumberland, Dauphin, Lebanon, and Perry counties were eligible to receive nominations. The Elizabethtown Area School District was invited to participate due to its proximity to Hershey itself. Independent evaluators representing the Hershey Theater Apollo Awards attended each school’s production to gather the list of nominees. The awards focus solely on the performances of the young people, honoring their acting, singing, and dancing abilities.

Also nominated from Elizabethtown Area High School were Emma Creason and Jagger Gilleland for Outstanding Featured Performer in a Play; Emma Buettner for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Play; and Tori Bressler for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play. Elizabethtown’s production of You Can’t Take It With You was nominated for Outstanding Play

Recognitions were also given to individual students for their dedication, hard work, and commitment to their high school production. Elizabethtown’s Tyler Faulkner earned one of fourteen 2020 Spirit of Theater awards for the Play category while Carter Rutkowski earned one of twenty Spirit of Theater Awards for the Musical category. In addition to the Spirit of Theater Awards, deserving seniors were honored for their demonstrated growth over four years with their high school productions. Elizabethtown’s Mackenzie Smith and Claire Fritz earned Achievement Awards in the Play and Musical categories respectively.

Due to the state-ordered school closings, individual, cast, ensemble, and performance honors were not awarded for spring musicals.