Return to Headlines

EAHS spring musical nominated for seven awards from the Hershey Theater

May 1, 2019- Elizabethtown Area High School’s spring production of Seussical the Musical landed seven nominations for the 2019 Hershey Theater Apollo Awards. Senior Ryan Kruft and junior Adam Evans were both nominated for Outstanding Lead Actor. Junior Carter Rutkowski and sophomore Alexis Martin were nominated for Outstanding Featured Performer and Outstanding Supporting Actress respectively. In addition, the performance received nominations for Outstanding Pit Orchestra, Outstanding Dance Number and Outstanding Musical.
Apollo Award Nominees
Earlier in the winter, the high school’s fall play - The Man Who Came to Dinner - received four nominations including Outstanding Lead Actor (Carter Rutkowski), Outstanding Lead Actress (Claire Fritz), Outstanding Supporting Actor (Ryan Kruft), and Outstanding Supporting Actress (Emma Buettner).

High schools in Cumberland, Dauphin, Lebanon, and Perry counties were eligible to receive nominations. The Elizabethtown Area School District was also invited to participate due to its proximity to Hershey itself. Independent evaluators representing the Hershey Theater Apollo Awards attended each school’s production to gather the list of nominees. The awards focus solely on the performances of the young people, honoring their acting, singing, and dancing abilities.

A Tony Awards-inspired ceremony will be held in May at the Hershey Theatre. In addition to the winners for both fall plays and spring musicals being announced, the production will feature performances by the casts, crews, and orchestra members from the local schools.